Home » Server Options » Text & interMedia » SYS Context index is not working for new records (oracle 10g)
SYS Context index is not working for new records [message #514709] Wed, 06 July 2011 01:00 Go to next message
darshanvaidya
Hi,
I am new in oracle,I have one table tb_search and am searching few contents from one clob column.after creating following index,

I have created following index

CREATE INDEX INDX_SEARCH ON
TB_SEARCH (SEARCH_CLOB) INDEXTYPE IS CTXSYS.CONTEXT;

SELECT ID FROM TB_SEARCH WHERE
CONTAINS(SEARCH_CLOB, '%keyboard%' )>0 ;

search is working fine on existing records on tb_search table but if any record get inserted in tb_search then that search is not included into the search query result.wat wud be the reason Please suggest.

regards
Darshan

Re: SYS Context index is not working for new records [message #514723 is a reply to message #514709] Wed, 06 July 2011 01:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
I don't know much about context but waiting for our expert (Barbara) what I can say is that this kind of index is not updated each time you insert or update a row, you have to synchronize it from time to time.

Regards
Michel
Re: SYS Context index is not working for new records [message #514734 is a reply to message #514723] Wed, 06 July 2011 03:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
darshanvaidya
Hi Michel,
Thanks for giving a hint,
i tried following and it is working

CREATE INDEX INDX_SEARCH ON
TB_SEARCH (SEARCH_CLOB) INDEXTYPE IS CTXSYS.CONTEXT
PARAMETERS('SYNC (ON COMMIT)');

Re: SYS Context index is not working for new records [message #514748 is a reply to message #514734] Wed, 06 July 2011 04:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Thanks for the feedback.

Regards
Michel
Re: SYS Context index is not working for new records [message #534170 is a reply to message #514748] Sat, 03 December 2011 12:47 Go to previous messageGo to next message
TheKevinRyan