Home » Server Options » Text & interMedia » Select all strings that appear a substrings of a given string (Oracle Database 10g Enterprise Edition Release 10.2.0.2.0 on Solaris)
icon5.gif  Select all strings that appear a substrings of a given string [message #402873] Tue, 12 May 2009 22:27 Go to next message
ShiningMasamune

Greetings all, I'm a bit new to databases so please be gentle!

I have a table with a column of strings, and one big string given to me. I would like to select all strings in the column that are substrings of the given big string. Basically I want this:

SELECT str FROM table WHERE CONTAINS(?, str, 1) > 0

Where ? would be replaced with my given string. Except, this query gives me
Error: ORA-20000: Oracle Text error:
DRG-10599: column is not indexed

In an absolutely ideal world, I want only strings that are whole-word substrings. In other words, if my given string is "I sold shoes to make money" and the str column contains the strings "make money" and "old shoes" I would want only the former selected.

Can this be done? And more importantly, can it be done quickly considering my str column has ten million rows?

Thanks!

[Updated on: Tue, 12 May 2009 22:37]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Select all strings that appear a substrings of a given string [message #402878 is a reply to message #402873] Tue, 12 May 2009 23:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Barbara Boehmer